Class B, consisting of the former German colonies in Central and East Africa, should be administered by the Mandatory under conditions which will "guarantee freedom of conscience or religion, subject only to the maintenance of public order and morals, the prohibition of abuses such as the slave trade, the arms traffic, and the liquor traffic, and the prevention of the establishment of fortifications or military or naval bases and of military training of the natives for other than police purposes and the defence of territory, and will also secure equal opportunities for the trade and commerce of other members of the League".

Class C (German South West Africa and Pacific Islands possessions) is composed of territories which, owing to sparseness of population, small size, remoteness from centres of civilization, or geographical contiguity to the territory of the Mandatory Power, "can best be administered under the laws of the Mandatory as integral portions of its territory, subject to the safeguards above mentioned in the interests of the indigenous population".

The Supreme Council, as the organ of the Allied and Associated Powers, allocated the mandates for the territories ceded by Germany and Turkey, subject to the approval of the Council of the League. The mandates and mandatory powers, as determined by the Supreme Council are:—

A Mandates.—Mesopotamia (now the Kingdom of Iraq) and Palestine, attributed to Great Britain; Syria (including Lebanon), attributed to France.

B Mandates.—Togoland and Cameroon, attributed in part to Great Britain and in part to France. The north-western portion of former German East Africa, attributed to Belgium. The remainder of former German East Africa (now Tanganyika Colony), attributed to Great Britain.

C Mandates.—Former German South Pacific possessions (except Nauru and Samoa), attributed to Australia. Samoa, attributed to New Zealand; and Nauru, attributed to the British Empire and administered jointly by Australia, New Zealand, and Great Britain. Former German North Pacific possessions (Yap, etc.), attributed to Japan. Former German South-West Africa, attributed to the Union of South Africa.

Minorities.—Poland, Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, Roumania and Greece, in treaties signed at Paris during the Peace Conference with the principal Allied and Associated Powers, undertook to recognize and respect certain fundamental, civil, political, and religious rights of minorities incorporated within their boundaries. Similar obligations were imposed on Austria, Bulgaria, Hungary and Turkey in the Treaties of Peace concluded with those countries. These minority rights were placed under the guarantee of the League of Nations. Albania, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, and Lithuania, on entering the League, made formal declaration of their willingness to accept the same obligations with regard to the protection of national minorities.

The system of the protection of minorities by the League of Nations does not establish a general jurisprudence applicable wherever racial, linguistic or religious minorities exist. On the contrary it aims at facilitating the solution of problems arising from the existence of minorities in certain countries in which there was reason to suppose that, owing to special circumstances, these problems might present particular difficulties.

The parties to the various Minorities Treaties recognize, and the Council of the League guarantees, that racial, religious, and linguistic minorities in the